The Fairy Garden (Maurice Ravel arr. Phillip Littlemore)


This beautiful and atmospheric finale to Ravel’s Mother Goose Suite makes for a welcome addition to any concert programme. Do not be deceived though… the title belies is huge ending!

In stock



Ravel write his five short piano pieces entitle Ma Mère l’Oye (Mother Goose) for two young children, Mimie and Jean Godeski in 1910. The suite invites us to the enchanted world of childhood through these five atmospheric tales. The final part of Ravel’s suite is a grand finale, although where Ravel got his inspiration for The Fairy Garden is unknown. Whatever its origin, it certainly is a delightful piece of music – slow in tempo, quiet to start, with rich harmonies and delicate solos, all leading to a tumultuous climax.

Duration: 3’00”

Additional information

Dimensions 0.5 × 21 × 29.7 cm

Recently viewed items